The Radio and Television Commission of Lithuania will be chaired by Rimantas Bagdzevičius

bagdzevicius  855x345.jpg

On 25 March 2021 the Seimas of the Republic of Lithuania (hereinafter - the Seimas) appointed Rimantas Bagdzevičius, a well-known public figure, theatre, film and television actor, as the Chairman of the Radio and Television Commission of Lithuania (hereinafter - RTCL).


Ričardas Slapšys, a public relations specialist and a former vice-chairman was again appointed as a vice-chairman for the second four-year term.


Rimantas Bagdzevičius is a founder of the Lithuanian Association of Related Rights (AGATA), a member of various public organizations and associations, a long-term actor of the Lithuanian National Drama Theatre, a member of the board of the Association of Film and Television Actors.


Rimantas Bagdzevičius has been appointed to the RTCL for one term and will chair it for four years. He had been appointed to the RTCL by the Seimas in 2010, he served as the vice-chairman back then.


Pursuant to the Republic of Lithuania Law on the Provision of Information to the Public, the Seimas both appoints and dismisses the Chairman and the vice-chairman of the RTCL.


According to the said Law the RTCL consists of 11 members. The members are appointed by the Seimas, the President, the Association of Lithuanian Artists, the Union of Lithuanian Journalists, the Society of Lithuanian Journalists and the Conference of Bishops of the Lithuanian Catholic Church.


At the beginning of 2021 the terms of office of the majority of members ended and the newly composed RTCL started its work.


The members of the LRTK are appointed for a term of four years and may hold no more than two consecutive terms.

Last updated: 15-04-2021
To top